XRCO Award Nominations Announced

The 23rd annual X-Rated Critics Organization (XRCO) nominations have been released, and this year brought a few changes and consolidations to the categories.

A compete listing of all of the categories and nominations can be seen at www.xrco.com.

“The most obvious change is due to everything pretty much now being released on DVD rather than video,” said Dirty Bob, who along with Dick Freeman, is running the organization. “Also, there are few films being made. For this reason, we combined three categories into one new category: Best Release. We eliminated Best Video, Best DVD, and Best Film. Best Release now encompasses them all. The XRCO voters chose a wide selection of titles for Best Release nominations: Camp Cuddly Pines Powertool Massacre (Wicked Wictures), Catherine (Ninn Worx/Pure Play Media), Dark Side (Red Light District Films), The New Devil in Miss Jones (Vivid Entertainment Group), Pirates (Digital Playground/Adam and Eve), Prisoner (Metro), Squealer (Hustler Video), and Vault of Whores (Evil Angel).

“Another change is the new category Best Epic which pays homage to the recent influx of big-budget productions like the five nominated titles: Catherine (Ninn Worx/Pure Play Media), Dark Angels 2 (new Sensations), Eternity (Wicked Pictures), The New Devil in Miss Jones (Vivid Entertainment Group), and Pirates (Digital Playground/Adam and Eve).”

Noms for Best Director are Brad Armstrong, Joone, Jules Jordan, Michael Ninn and Paul Thomas. The New Starlet nods went to Jasmine Byrne, Courtney Cummz, Sunny Lane, Hillary Scott and Taryn Thomas.

Mainstream Adult Media Favorite noms went to Mary Carey, Stormy Daniels, Jenna Jameson, Jesse Jane, Ron Jeremy and Tera Patrick.

Hall of Fame inductees will be:

Actors: Mark Davis, Jon Dough, and Blake Palmer

Actresses: Kylie Ireland and Keisha

Film Pioneers: Richard Pacheco

Film Creators: Michael Ninn

5th Estate: Danni Ashe and Doug Oliver

Movies: Face Dance I & II (Evil Angel - 1993); Justine: Nothing to Hide II (Cal Vista Films - 1994), and Neon Nights (Command Video - 1981).

The awards show will take place April 20 at the Century Club in Century City. Doors open at 7. This is a free event open to industry, XRCO members, and invited press only. Reservations are strongly recommended (via Bill Margold at 818-501-6139)

Co-hosts will be Stormy Daniels, Lauren Phoenix and Frank Bukkwyd.

The surprise Trophy Girl (AKA Heart-On girl) will be Heidi Joy Pike, AVN senior associate editor.

The XRCO (X-Rated Critics Organization) was founded in 1984 to give accredited writers and editors from the adult entertainment industry a voice in selecting the yearly best in X-Rated movies. The purpose was to award works of excellence, recognizing specifically the unique qualities of sexually explicit films. Its original membership included writers from Los Angeles, New York and Philadelphia. In 2005, the XRCO welcomed its first Euro confrere among the current 40 members.