Nominations for the 2011 AVN Awards Announced

CHATSWORTH, Calif.—The nominations for the 2011 AVN Awards have been announced, with a record 155 categories represented, including brand-new categories honoring retailers, distributors and pleasure products, as well as additions in the web & technology sector.

A complete list of nominations by category can be found here:

A list in alphabetical order by industry sector can be found here:

The 2011 AVN Awards Show will take place on Saturday Jan. 8, 2011, at the Pearl Theatre, inside the Palms Hotel & Casino. The show will be taped for broadcast in spring 2011 on the Showtime Network.

The event will be co-hosted by 2010 AVN Female Performer of the Year Tori Black and Digital Playground contract girl Riley Steele. A mainstream comic host will be named in the coming weeks.

“I’m excited about our mainstream host but we cannot reveal the name yet,” said Paul Fishbein, AVN founder. “We also have some great musical talent and a bunch of surprises for the show. The goal is to make it extremely entertaining, while still rewarding the industry and talent for the great work this year. I applaud all of the nominees.”

Vivid’s pick-up Malice in Lalaland (from Europe-based Miss Lucifer Productions), starring Kagney Linn Karter and Sasha Grey, garnered the most nominations for any individual title with 19 nods. Other top nominated titles include a pair of Batman parodies, BatfXXX: Dark Night from Bluebird Films and Batman XXX: A Porn Parody from Axel Braun and Vivid, with 16 each. Wicked’s Speed and New Sensations’ The Big Lebowski: A XXX Parody both grabbed 15 nominations, and Digital Sin’s The Sex Files 2: A Dark XXX Parody and Bluebird’s Bonny & Clide each took 14. The big-budget Body Heat from Digital Playground and B. Skow’s first huge feature, The Condemned, nabbed 11 nominations each, while An Open Invitation: A Real Swinger's Party in San Francisco from Private also found itself with 11 nods.

Tori Black broke an AVN Awards record with 22 individual nominations in acting and sex scene categories, while Bobbi Starr nabbed an incredible 17 individual accolades, Kristina Rose grabbed 14, Andy San Dimas 13 and Asa Akira 10. Manuel Ferrara is associated with 30 nominations as a performer, actor, director and a producer through his own line, distributed via Evil Angel.

Meanwhile Evil Angel, with its large stable of producers, grabbed a whopping 137 nominations for the producers it distributes, while Jules Jordan Video, aided by a strong showing from Brazzers, scooped up 124 for the various lines it carries. Vivid garnered 90 nominations for its own products (including a few via distribution deals) and New Sensations/Digital Sin earned 89 for its own productions and titles distributed for outside producers. Elegant Angel Productions took the most nominations for one studio distributing solely its own material with 73 nods. Girlfriends Films, with 23 nominations, led the way in all-girl categories.

"This may have been the toughest nominations period I've been through at AVN, as the quality of movies released this year has been simply staggering, making it harder than ever to give everyone their just due," senior editor Peter Warren commented. "But I feel like we really did a diligent and exhaustive job of identifying the true cream of the crop among the cornucopia of amazing productions, performers, directors and other artists out there. I definitely give them all my heartiest congrats."

In the new Sex Toys and Pleasure Products categories, California Exotic Novelties led the way with eight nominations.

A brand-new category called Best Web Premiere has the AVN staff particularly excited. “As if we needed to watch more content, we found that there’s an abundance of high-quality web-only material that we felt deserved its own category,” said senior editor Tom Hymes. “I think this will expand in future years so that we can identify and reward the different niche content that premieres online and doesn’t necessarily make it to DVD or broadcast.”

As announced previously, John Stagliano will accept the Reuben Sturman Award for his successful defense of obscenity charges earlier this year.

Tickets for the 2011 AVN Awards can be acquired at or through Bonnie LeBlanc ([email protected]) at 818-718-5788, ext. 122.