FSC Announces 2006 Board of Directors Nominations Process

The Free Speech Coalition (FSC) has announced the 2006 nominations schedule for individuals interested in serving on the FSC Board of Directors. The Board, which is elected by the Free Speech Coalition membership, is comprised of 13 members who each serve two-year terms. This year, seven seats are up for grabs, but members whose terms have expired are allowed to run for the Board again.

The following is the 2006 FSC Board of Directors nominations schedule:

10/17/05 – Nominating ballots snail-mailed to FSC membership

11/07/05 – Nominating ballots return date deadline

11/15/05 – Final ballots snail-mailed to FSC membership

12/06/05 – Final ballots return deadline

Top nominees and current board members who are running for reelection will be included on the final ballot. The 2006 Board will be announced at the FSC annual membership meeting in Las Vegas, January 2006.

The FSC Board of Directors serves an active and vital role in the organization, providing oversight over activities and functions, including strategic planning, approval of annual budgets and periodic review of strategic goals. In addition to oversight, Board members also sit on supporting committees, of which there are six: the Executive Committee, the Government & Legal Committee, the Membership Committee, the Internet Committee, the Fundraising Committee, and the Public Information Committee. The Board meets bi-monthly, and all members volunteer their time.

For more information, please contact president Julie Stewart at julie@sportsheets.com or executive director Michelle Freridge at execdir@freespeechcoalition.com.