Winners Feted at 9th Annual ‘O” Awards

LAS VEGAS—Retailers, exhibitors, manufacturers and more took a break Wednesday night of the AVN Novelty Expo to mingle, have a few cocktails and celebrate the winners of the ninth annual “O” Awards.

Hosted this year by Anka Radakovich—a certified sexologist who has appeared on TV with Conan O’Brien more than half a dozen times—the “O” Awards recognized the best of the best in 12 categories, as well as honored Synergy Erotic’s Bob Wolf with the Lifetime Achievement Award.

After a brief introduction by AVN Senior Editor Sherri L. Shaulis, Radakovich took the stage and won the crowd right over by saying that after 20 years of writing about sex, she’s seen her share of slut shaming. Now that she’s getting her doctorate, Radakovich joked, she’ll be able to say, “That’s Doctor Slut to you.”

Throughout, Radakovich showed her familiarity with the pleasure product marketplace, joking about the Drilldo (“not only does it give you an orgasm—you can also put up some shelves”), male sex toys (noting many of them look like a Dyson), and overuse of delay sprays (“I used so much on my boyfriend, we had to call in a fluffer”). 

There to accept awards were a number of well-known industry figures, including Rob Reimer of Boneyard Toys, Scott Watson of Doc Johnson, and Elliot Schwartz of Nasstoys. But few people were as thrilled as the owner of It’s the Bomb, who whooped loudly and did a little victory dance when her company won for Outstanding Body of Skin Care Line.

Also honored was Bob Wolf of Synergy Erotic, who drew a standing ovation as he came up to accept an award for Lifetime Achievement. “After 40 years of doing this, I feel so lucky. I am truly humbled in every fiber of my body,” Wolf said, joking, “God knows I’m unemployable in any other industry. I can’t imagine what the other nominees did to piss off the AVN staff so that they voted me in.”

The evening wrapped up on a fitting note. “I want to thank everyone for coming—and for making everyone else come,” Radakovich said before the crowd filed out to move on to the next party. And there’s always another party at the AVN Show.

The complete list of winners for the 9th Annual “O Awards are as follows:

“O” Award for Lifetime Achievement: Bob Wolf of Synergy Erotic

Outstanding Lingerie Collection: Latexwear, Xgen Products

Outstanding Accessory Product or Line: Kink Erase Permanent Marker Remover, Kink by Doc Johnson

Outstanding Marketing Campaign: Elevate U E-Learning, Eldorado Trading Co.

Outstanding Packaging: tokidoki x Lovehoney, Lovehoney

Outstanding Lubricant Product of Line: Snake Oil Cum Lube, Boneyard Toys

Outstanding Body or Skin Care Line: Activated Black Charcoal Detox, It’s The Bomb

Outstanding Supplement or Enhancement: Passion Shot for Her, Rock On Products

Outstanding Non-Powered Product: Spiked Chain Whip, Nasstoys

Outstanding Powered Product: Kroma, CalExotics

Outstanding Innovation: Shi/Shi Union, NS Novelties

Outstanding Product For Men: Nexus Ultra Si, Nexus

Outstanding Product For Women: Satisfyer Pro Penguin, Satisfyer