StorErotica Award Winners Announced at ANME Founders Show

BURBANK, Calif.—Look no further than the StorErotica Awards ceremony for an exemplar of efficiency and organization. Under the wing of hostess Kelly Shibari and Kristofer Kay, PR director at ED Publications, a grand total of 20 StorErotica Awards were bestowed tonight in a ceremony that clocked in at in under an hour.

Joked Shibari, who was serving as the event hostess for the third year in a row, the goal was to get all the winners announced while free drinks were still being served. And indeed, guests had plenty of time left for cocktails after the last trophy was handed out.

The ceremony took place at the ANME Founders Show, drawing a crowd of leading manufacturers, distributors and retailers to find out the winners and enjoy the full dinner and open bar. The show continues through July 19 at the Burbank Airport Marriott.

But though the acceptance speeches were short, the sentiment among the winners was sweet. One highlight was the annual StorErotica Hall of Fame induction. Kay prefaced the announcement by relating a story that took place back when he was a newbie at StorErotica and working on a story. As Kay recalled, he met a man who was exceptionally gracious and helpful, and it wasn’t until later that he realized he’d been talking to the CEO of the company. That man, Kay revealed, was Doc Johnson founder Ron Braverman, who came up to accept a trophy—well timed to mark his company’s 40th anniversary mark.

The StorErotica Awards were presented in the following order:

Boutique Brand of the Year—Vibratex

Marketing Campaign of the Year—Lelo’s “Beyond the Wave”

Sexual Enhancement Company of the Year—Screaming O for Dynamo Delay Spray

Body Care Line/Range of the Year—Kama Sutra (Massage Body Lotion)

Male Pleasure Product of the Year—Everlaster Series by Sportsheets

Adult Game/Gag Gift Manufacturer of the Year—Kheper Games

BDSM Product of the Year—Fifty Shades of Grey Keep Still Over the Bed Cross Restraint by Lovehoney

Fetish Company of the Year—XR Brands

Lubricant Company of the Year—Swiss Navy

LGBT Company of the Year—PHS International

StorErotica Hall of Fame—Ron Braverman

Luxury Line/Range of the Year—OhMiBod (Lovelife)

New Product of the Year (International)—Xpander by JoyDivision

Foreign Manufacturer of the Year—Shots

Brand Ambassador of the Year—Margaux O’Donoghue, Swiss Army/MD Science Lab

New Product of the Year—Womanizer Pro

Distributor of the Year—Eldorado Trading Company

Retailer Favorite of the Year—CalExotics

Independent Retailer of the Year—Chi Chi La Rue’s, West Hollywood

Retailer of the Year—Adam & Eve

Pleasure Product Company of the Year—Pipedream Products

For the final award, Pipedream Products chief Nick Orlandino took the stage, promising, “We’re gonna beat the pirates, we’re gonna beat the  internet, we’re gonna win forever.” It was a sentiment that many in the crowded room were be more than happy to cheer.

To see a full list of the nominees, click here.