FSC Opens Elections for 2008-09 Board

CANOGA PARK, Calif. - The Free Speech Coalition sent ballots out Friday to members for election of its 2008-09 Board of Directors.

Ballots were sent electronically to members with current e-mail addresses and via snail mail to all others. Said FSC executive director Diane Duke, "If you are a Free Speech Coalition member, and you haven't received a ballot, call our office today. It is important to make sure we have current information to allow all of our members to participate in the election process."

Bios of the candidates have been posted on the FSC website, www.freespeechcoalition.com. The incumbents up for re-election are: President Jim Everett (The Everett Group), treasurer Joy King (Wicked Pictures), Greg Shearer (White Tiger Releasing) and Nellie Symm-Gruender (Passions). Other candidates, all nominated by members, are: Eric Bernstein, Esq. (Eric Bernstein & Associates), Bill Gardner (Hot Desert Knights), Tom Hymes (XBiz), Paul Morris (Treasure Island Media), Theresa Reed a.k.a Darklady (YNOT, AVN), Tom Stewart (Sportsheets) and Steve Toushin (Bijou Video).

This is the first time the FSC has brought its election process online. "If we want maximum participation from our membership," Duke said, "then we will meet members where they live. This is our members' chance to choose the leadership and therefore the direction for FSC. We encourage everyone to vote."

The FSC office can be reached at (818) 348-9373. Elections close Tuesday, Dec. 18 at midnight. The results will be announced at FSC's membership meeting at the AVN Adult Entertainment Expo in January.