Big Winners Honored At GayVN Awards

SAN FRANCISCO—While the theme of the 2010 GayVN Awards was “Prison Break,” the talent from big-name studios was breaking out all over as the trophies were handed out for during the ceremony Friday, Sept. 24, at the historic Castro Theatre.

Comedian Alec Mapa, who arrived with his own towering "security guard," served as warden/host of the event, which was presented by NakedSword. Mapa pulled no punches during his on-stage antics, going so far as to demonstrate great sex positions with Diesel Washington and even taking pot shots at mainstream celebrities.

"Bruce Villanch, ladies and germs. Bruce Villanch. Talk about your high ends and low ends," he quipped at one point when he was forced to wing it. "One minute you're hob-nobbing at the Academy Awards with Julia Roberts, and now you're here in this room full of cocksuckers.

"Not that Julia Roberts has never sucked a cock," he joked as the crowd roared with laughter and applause.

However, Mapa’s antics were almost nothing compared to the over-the-top displays put on by some of the presenters. Steven Daigle, who made a name for himself by appearing ont he CBS show Big Brother before he made his entry into gay adult cinema, sauntered on stage completely naked, except for a strategically placed cowboy hat.

"I was really nervous about what to wear, so they told me to wear what a cowboy would," he joked as he moved the hat up and down seductively.

Also entertaining the crowd to the hilt were the contenders for the first-ever GayVN Personality of the Year title.

Chi Chi LaRue, Sister Roma and Jason Sechrest tried to outdo, out-camp and out-shock each other for the award. Audience members texted in votes throughout the evening, but it was ultimately Sister Roma who got the nod from audience members, who might have taken her threats seriously.

"Vote for me, or I'm gonna start tipping shit over," she said during her taped segment. "Seriously, if I don't win, I'm coming to each of your houses and kicking some ass."

Of course, the evening was about the big winners, including Brent Corrigan, the movie Focus/ReFocus and Raging Stallion Studios and Channel 1 Releasing, all of which took home multiple trophies. Taking home top honors this year were:

Best Actor

Logan McCree, The Visitor (Raging Stallion Studios)

Best All-Sex Video

Tropical Adventure (Kristen BjornProductions)

Best Alternative Release

Men In Stockings (Lucas Entertainment)

Best Amateur/Pro-Am Release

Brent Corrigan’s Big Easy (Prodigy Productions/Dirty Bird Pictures)

Best Cumshot

Rafael Alencar, Wall Street (Lucas Entertainment)

Best Director


Chris Ward, Ben Leon and Tony DiMarco, Focus/ReFocus (Raging Stallion Studios)

Joe Gage, Dad Takes a Fishing Trip (D/G Mutual Media)

Best Duo Sex Scene

Tony Buff and Will Parker, Folsom Flesh (TitanMen)

Best Feature Release

Focus/ReFocus (Raging Stallion Studios)

Best Fetish Release

Skuff 4 (Hot House)

Best Group Sex Scene

Cast, Black Balled 7: Jail Slammed (All Worlds Video)

Best HD Feature

Flux (Titan)

Best Marketing—Company Image

Bel Ami Entertainment

Best Newcomer

Conner Habib

Best Sex Comedy

Whorrey Potter and the Sorcerer’s Balls (Dominic Ford Features)

Best Solo Performance

Adam Killian, Taken: To the Lowest Level (Rascal)

Best Supporting Actor

Steve Cruz, Focus/ReFocus (Raging Stallion Studios)

Best Videography

Ben Leon and Tony Di Marco, Focus/ReFocus (Raging Stallion Studios)

Best Web-to-DVD Release

Summer Recruits (Active Duty)

Best Renting Title

Steven Daigle: XXXposed (Rascal Video)

Best Selling Title

Men of Israel (Lucas Entertainment)

Performer of the Year

Wilfried Knight

In the website categories, the winners were:

Best Affiliate Program

C1R Affiliate Program

Best Blog/Gossip Site

Best Genre Site (Classic content)

Best Live Webcam/Webshow

Live & Raw (

Best Porn Star Site

Best Web-Based Marketing/Promotion

Channel 1 Releasing

Web Performer of the Year

Brent Corrigan

Website of the Year

For the first time ever, the GayVN Awards included fan-favorite categories, in which the winners were determined by votes from gay-porn aficionados. Selected as the fan favorites at the 2010 GayVN Awards were the following winners:

Best Top

Trevor Knight

Best Bottom

Brent Corrigan

Best Versatile

Matthew Rush

Overall Fan Favorite

Brent Everett

GayVN Personality of the Year

Sister Roma

And inducted into the GayVN Hall of Fame this year were Ryan Block, Mike Donner, Bill Marlowe, Matthew Rush and Mickey Skee.

Taking home the Trailblazer Award, which was chosen by last year's winner Chi Chi LaRue, was Sharon Kane, who got her start in the industry in the 1970s with the philosophy of, "If you want to fuck it, stick it in," Chi Chi told the crowd.

Honored with the Lifetime Achievement Award was Pat Rocco, who started out in the mid-1960s making some of the first underground porn movies until he was discovered and his films were then shown in movie theaters. In addition to his work in the industry, he also serves as an advocate in the political and mainstream arenas for the gay culture, snd is the founder of Midnight Mission, shelters for homeless gay teens.